CAAPAC Endorsements in June 28 IL Primary

Posted By: Michael Mini Advocacy News,

The Chicagoland Apartment Association Political Action Committee (CAAPAC) has endorsed  candidates in select districts running in the he Illinois Primary Election held Tuesday, June 28. 

CAAPAC supports Kari Steele for Cook County Assessor over incumbent Fritz Kaegi in the Democratic Primary.  Currently the President of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, Kari Steele represents the best path forward to address the unfair shift of the property tax burden on to apartment buildings.  

Additionally, CAAPAC is supporting the Illinois General Assembly candidates below, most of whom are in contested Primary Election races.  These candidates support the apartment industry and will help us to avoid rent control and enact policies that will help further the maintenance and development of multifamily housing.   

 Cook County Assessor – Democratic Primary

Kari Steele

 Illinois Senate – Democratic Primary

Sen. Don Harmon (39th District – Oak Park)

Sen. Omar Aquino (2nd District – Chicago)


Illinois Senate – Republican Primary

Sen. Dan McConchie (26th District – Hawthorn Woods)

Sen. Dave Syverson (35th District – Cherry Valley)


Illinois House – Democratic Primary

 Rep. Chris Welch (7th District – Hillside)

Rep. Mike Zalewski (21st District – Riverside)

Rep. Michael Kelly (15th District – Chicago)

Rep. Kathleen Willis (77th District – Addison)

Rep. Curtis Tarver II (25th District – Chicago)


Illinois House – Republican Primary

Rep. Jim Durkin (82nd District – Western Springs)

Rep. David Welter (75th District – Morris)

Rep. Tim Butler (95th District – Springfield)

Rep. Patrick Windhorst (117th District – Metropolis)